Randy Ayers Nascar Modeling Forums Forum Index Randy Ayers Nascar Modeling Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Future cracking?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Randy Ayers Nascar Modeling Forums Forum Index -> Nascar Modeling Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rob Spires
Board Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:22 pm    Post subject: Future cracking? Reply with quote

Hey guys, I’m new to using an airbrush, so I’m still in a bit of a learning curve. I’ve tried spraying future as a clear over Tamiya acrylic paints twice and it has cracked badly both times. Both times the paint has been dry to the touch, but sprayed within the last 1-2 days.

Do you think I’m not giving the paint time to gas out (is this even an issue with acrylics?), or possibly applying the future too thick (I’m not having an issue with runs...)?

What about Tamiya X22 clear? I know the clear spray is too hot to go over decals, but is the acrylic bottle paint more mild?

I know there are other good clears out there, but I’m in a shared space with my wife, so I’m trying to use low odor or pleasant smelling paint out of courtesy.

Thanks!
Dennis O
Board Moderator

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have never sprayed future. I take a lint free cloth, dip the cloths and spread it with that. It gives me control as to thickness. Rob you are a way better builder than I but relaying my experience.
AdamtheWayne

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote